RANT: Useless anime girls

annoyed-emoji

As an anime watcher, there is nothing that infuriates me more than when a character is taking up valuable screentime, and is not doing anything. And it can’t be just me, that notices how useless most of the girls are? DBZ, Naruto, anything else you name it. Don’t believe me? Let’s see.

nanami

Nanami Momozono: Kamisama Hajimemashita

I recently started watching this series, right now I’m on season 2. I can’t lie it’s good, but I just can’t get over how useless the main character is, I’m just watching it for Tomoe to be honest with y’all. This girl is tripping over nothing every couple of seconds, no wonder she needs Tomoe to save her all the time.

videl-1

Videl from DBZ

So, we finally have an anime girl that can fight in DBZ. She decides to fight Broly. This is pretty much how it went:

videl-2videl-3

This fight was a few seconds. AND DON’T EVEN GET ME STARTED ON SAKURA. (Naruto) AT LEAST VIDEL DID SOMETHING.

I’ve noticed a recurring pattern in most animes, aside from RWBY (which is AWESOME btw watch it) girls in anime seem to be useless, clumsy, there to just be rescued or if on the rare occasion they’re cool they’ll receive next to no screentime or get killed off. Like why can’t they ever be cool main characters, or have an ambition or goal that isn’t just out of love for some guy? What are your opinions on this? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

